I ♥ My Family: An Introduction

I’ve only been blogging for a very short period of time, but I have yet to formally introduce myself and my little family.

Panda Residence

This is my house. I bought it (with the help of my parents) in June 2010.

Ana

This is me. I am a 26 (soon to be 27) year old, full-time working single mother of one rambunctious and curious baby, born August 2010. I have a degree in Biology, with a concentration in Tree-Hugging, from John Carroll University. I live in Cleveland Heights and have loved living in the Heights area for the last 5-ish years. I enjoy reading, writing, painting, drawing, gardening, sleeping, cooking, baking, shopping, home-making items, philosophizing, and, most of all, tree-hugging.  I hope to return to school in the next year or so to pursue a masters degree in Tree-Hugging or get an MBA or something… I don’t know yet… I’d really like to come an IBCLC, but I haven’t been able to successfully complete a feasibility study on that happening. That’s me!

Kola

This is Kola. Born Nikola Luke, at 0:44 on Wednesday August 18, 2010; 7 lb 6 oz; 19.25 in long. He was not born of woman (ie. he was a C-Section; please refer to Shakespeare on that one). He’s been my best friend for a little over six months so far. He’s great. So far, he likes to listen to me read, sing, play music, crawl, get into things, pet animals, and just be. He is a Da-Sein in training, and I am happy to be the Hegel to his Heidegger. Or Schelling. Whoever he ends up preferring, as long as it’s not Foucault.

Ginger

This is Ginger, my Baby No. 1, who is now Baby No. 2. I found Ginger one blistery morning on my way to work. She was running across a bend in the road, dragging a broken chain, cold and covered in scars and matted with dirt. I took her home, gave her a bath, took her to the vet, cried over giving her up, and here she is! My dog! She’s the best dog ever! She’s great with Kola, she still loves me, even though my love is split between her and Kola now, and is generally very well behaved. Ginger likes squirrels, squeaky toys, pig ear sausages, food, playing outside, and sleeping. She’s the greatest dog ever!

Chach

Lastly, this is my Chach. AKA Magnum. AKA ChaCha. My chinchilla. My first pet on my own. I’ve had him for about 6 years now. He’s about 10 years old – another rescue, rescued from Forchinate Chins in Parma, OH. He’s a fantastic chinchilla – he’s a little tree-hugger, loves honey and dried fruit, and doesn’t mind living in a cage. I take him out to play and in the summer, he gets to call the Sun Room his home (not a bad deal!). I’m excited for him and Kola to become buddies. I don’t know that him and Ginger ever will be, though.

 

That’s it! That’s our family unit! Small but loving! I have the best little family ever!


It took us so long to realize that a purpose of human life, no matter who is controlling it, is to love whoever is around to be loved. – Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

What’s your family like? Share it or a link to it in the comments or on the FaceBook.

One Comment to “I ♥ My Family: An Introduction”

  1. What an adorable family you have! I like that your degree included a “concentration in tree hugging”. Ha!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

